Act 144 withdrawn from some Townships of Arakan state

Maungdaw, Arakan State: Emergency Act 144 has been withdrawn from some townships – Kyauktaw, Mrauk-U,Min Bya and Pauktaw- and the Act 144 still remains  in other townships of Arakan State, according to U Hla Thein, press and information officer of Arakan state government.
“The Act 144 was withdrawn from Kyauktaw Township, in Arakan State, on August 8. It was imposed from 10:00 pm to 4:00 am.”

“The Act 144 was imposed in Kyauktaw Township after the violence between Buddhists and Rohingya Muslims in June and October 2012, U Hla Thein said.

In Arakan State, after the violence in some of the Townships in June and October 2012, the Act 144 was imposed in many Towns. However, later, the Act 144 was withdrawn from other Townships including Mrauk-U, Min Bya and Pauktaw. But, the Act 144 is still remained in other Townships, according to an elder who denied to be named from Sittwe.

Recently, however, in Kyaukpru and Rambree, Sittwe, Maungdaw and Buthidaung Townships, the Act 144 is extended  for two months more and Sittwe (Akyab), the capital of Arakan State, the schedule of imposing time is also changed from 9:00pm to 5:00am, the elder more added.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in English, News

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Witness to horror
Countdown to Annihilation: Genocide in Myanmar
Census documents – သန္းေခါင္စာရင္း မွတ္တမ္းမ်ား
Restless Beings: Rohingya Press Conference
%d bloggers like this: